Facebook £5.99 subscription hoax: Facebook will not charge £5.99 to keep your posts private – how to keep your Facebook posts private

facebook

facebook_599

 

The latest Facebook hoax suggests it will charge £5.99 to keep your posts private, unless you post an informational message. Is it a hoax? We explain how to keep your Facebook posts private. Also see: Don’t fall for the latest Facebook privacy hoax

Facebook to charge £5.99 – is it a hoax?

“Now it’s official! It has been published in the media. Facebook has just released the entry price: £5.99 to keep the subscription of your status to be set to “private”. If you paste this message on your page, it will be offered free (I said paste not share) if not tomorrow, all your posts can become public. Even the messages that have been deleted or the photos not allowed. After all, it does not cost anything for a simple copy and paste.”

That’s the message doing the rounds on Facebook today, so is it a hoax? Yes, of course it is.

This particular rumour first appeared on Facebook in 2013, and we’re still waiting for Facebook to start charging £5.99. We’ll be waiting a long time for it to do so because, apart from anything else, it is not in the business of alienating its users.

The idea that simply copying and pasting a message would protect you from such a change is frankly ridiculous, never mind the fact Facebook would be in seriously hot water if it decided to open up its users’ private data for all to see.

If you wish to keep your Facebook posts private, do not share this hoax message which does nothing other than keep the rumour alive and allow people to falsely believe they are protected. Instead, follow our advice below on how to keep your Facebook posts private.

How to keep your Facebook posts private – the only way to lock down your Facebook profile from prying eyes

Spreading a hoax message on Facebook won’t protect your posts from unwanted eyes. If that’s what you hope to achieve, do the following:

Step 1: Click on the down triangle at the top right of Facebook and choose Settings. If you’re using Facebook on a phone or tablet, tap the three horizontal lines icon and choose Account Settings.

Step 2. Tap or click on the Privacy Settings tab.

private_posts_facebook

Step 3. Under ‘Who can see your future posts’ select Friends.

Step 4. If you’re worried that previous posts may have been open to a wider audience, also select ‘Limit the audience for posts you’ve shared with friends of friends or Public’ and choose ‘Limit old posts’.

Source: http://www.pcadvisor.co.uk/how-to/social-networks/facebook-599-subscription-hoax-how-keep-facebook-posts-private-3626311/

 

100% REAL Services - REAL People - Over 3 Years in Business
© 2016 GEO HITS. All Rights Reserved | Terms of Service | Privacy Policy
Our website and services are not associated, affiliated, endorsed, or sponsored by Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Youtube, SoundCloud, Google Plus, Pinterest, Vine or Vimeo.

Log in with your credentials

Forgot your details?

eXTReMe Tracker